Aller au contenu

Helen Buchholtz (1877-1953).

    Charlotte Helena Geiger-Buchholtz was a Luxembourgian composer. She left around 136 compositions in manuscript, including 53 Lieder nineteen choral works, nineteen choral works, fourteen piano sonatas, 38 character pieces and dances for piano, eight works for symphony orchestra, and six works for wind ensemble, sixteen of these published during her lifetime. The manuscript archive is held by Cid-femmes (Women’s Information Center) in Luxembourg. The center organized a three-year celebration, 2009 to 2011, of Buchholtz’s work that included concerts, recordings, and music editions. Born in Luxemburg, Charlotte Helena Geiger-Buchholtz emigrated when she married German doctor Bernhard Geiger in 1914, and the couple settled in Wiesbaden, Germany. After her husband’s death in 1921 she returned to Luxembourg and lived in Luxembourg City in the Boulevard Paul Eyschen.

    Original source name : Helen Buchholtz (1877-1953).
    English translation : Helen Buchholtz (1877-1953).
    Creator : personal fonds
    Document- type 2 : personal
    Reference number : On appointment
    Language(s) : Luxemburg, French
    Geographical coverage : Luxembourg
    Time range : 20thc.
    Year(s) : 1910-1953
    Theme 1 : art and culture
    Link to the item in the catalogue :
    Archive name : Archives Helen Buchholtz
    Archive name (English) : Helen Buchholtz Archives
    Archive address : 14, rue BeckL-1222 LuxembourgB.P. 818 – L-2018 Luxembourg
    City : Luxembourg
    Country : Luxembourg
    Official website and institutional resources :
    Back to the list